This One’s For You, James

What do you see when you look at this picture? I don’t think any image could do this view justice. Although perhaps it’s not what you look at, in this situation, it’s what you see.

the sun setting over japan

I see this every day when I come home from work, and it never fails to stop me in my tracks. Often I pause, sometimes take a picture, but every day, no matter what, it always makes me smile.

Since re-contracting last Friday, I have been thinking a lot about myself (although, don’t I always? – ha) and what makes me happy. What is it that I like about Japan so much? I haven’t really been able to put it into words. Perhaps it’s got nothing to do with Japan, either; perhaps I just like being alone, being independent, and self-sufficient.

Anyway, this post was not meant to be about my own personal musings. It was meant to be a post about concrete things, that I could explain and you would understand. For example, one thing I indented on telling you all was that, if I leave my work at precisely 1625, I will arrive at the first set of lights on my bike ride home just in time to see a lady walk her many dogs. What’s special about this? One of those dogs, one tiny little thing, has no back legs, but rather two tiny little wheels on which he pulls himself along. It is the most heartwarming thing I have ever seen. He is so happy. The other dogs are all on a leash, but not him, and he wanders wherever he pleases. He, like the sunset, also always makes me smile. Another concrete piece of information, is whenever I leave work, the baseball team is always practicing, and I have to walk by the field to get to my bike. Everyday, without fail, as I pass the field, the entire team shouts “goodbye Rachel!” as they remove their baseball caps, run to stand in a line, and bow. That always brings more than a smile to my face.. more like a laugh. I stop and wave back. They are my favourite kids (for that reason, and also because they are all so good at English that if I am ever bombing in class with a lack of responses, one of them always gives me a look as if to say “fine, I’ll bail you out of this one” – will raise his hand, and help me out). That was what I was going to tell you.

I guess this post should be entitled “things that make me smile” – but the fact that it isn’t makes me smile too.

Leave a Reply

